Best Performers at Red Bull Campus Cricket National Finals 2018

Posted On 08 Jul 2018
Comment: Off


The most anticipated university event of the year, Red Bull Campus Cricket National Finals 2018 kicked off in Sri Lanka on the 19th of June and concluded with an exciting final on the 30th at the Colts Cricket Club Ground between BMS and Saegis.  Throughout the tournament, a plethora of new talent emerged and spectators were able to witness this new talent in the making.

Easily emerging as the best batsman was Sahan Arachchige from Saegis who collectively scored 139 runs across 4 matches. His incredible batting performance was closely followed by Sachin Jayawardena from ESOFT, who scored the most sixers in the tournament, and Avishka Fernando from ICBT. CIM’s Nipun Haggala must be further commended for scoring the highest score in an innings, at 78 runs.

Thikshila de Silva from Saegis emerged as the best bowler by knocking off 10 wickets in four matches, conceding a mere 78 runs. Yohan Gunawardena from APIIT must be commended for his splendid bowling performance, scoring the most wickets in an innings, which was the only five-wicket haul the tournament saw this year. Both Yohan Gunawardena and KDU’s Saranga Fernando scored hat-tricks for their respective teams. The third best bowler of the tournament, Sandun Weerakkody from Seagis, was undoubtedly the best all-rounder of the tournament, scoring 79 runs and taking 8 wickets across four matches. Chamika Karunarathne from BMS earned the Man of the Match title for the nail-biting final game between BMS and Saegis.

The champions of Red Bull Campus Cricket National Finals 2018, BMS will go on to battle it out at the Red Bull Campus Cricket World Finals this September in Sri Lanka. Join the excitement as they compete with teams from seven countries for the coveted Red Bull Campus Cricket trophy.  The ultimate winner of the tournament was Red Bull Campus Cricket because it achieved its main goal of identifying young talent and bridging the gap between school and club cricket.


About the Author