Sri Lanka Football hosts AFC U-16 Women’s Football Championship 2019 Qualifiers

Posted On 14 Sep 2018
Comment: Off

Football Federation of Sri Lanka (FFSL) is ready to host the Asian U16 Women’s Football Championship Qualifiers from 15th to 23rd September 2018.

Five countries including, Sri Lanka, China, Jordan, Uzbekistan and Guam will take part in the Group A. All matches will be played at CR & FC grounds at 11:00 am and 3:00 pm on the 15th, 17th, 19th, 21st and 23rd of September 2018.

Thirty teams from across Asia will vye for eight spots in Round 2 of the Qualifiers, where the teams will then be divided into two groups of four teams, with the top two teams from each group advancing to the Finals in 2019. The Final Competition will be played in Thailand.

Sri Lankan under 16 National team is training under  coach A.K.M. Ajwad from last 3 months and is a new team picked up by the management from different part of the country. This team has already took part in the SAFF U15 Women’s Championship concluded in Bhutan, last month and it was the first and only International experience under their belt.

“We are expecting to perform better than we performed in the SAFF tournament. Sri Lankan team doesn’t have enough international experience and SAFF Tournament was their first international exposure. We could identify our weakness in that tournament and we are hoping to rectify them in this coming event. Also this will be a great opportunity for our Sri Lankan Team”, said the Head Coach of Under 16 Women’s Team Mr. A.K.M. Ajwad.

FFSL is bringing back many international matches in the home soil as a strategy to popularize the game and attract more youth to select football as their favorite sport. This is part of the new “Vision-2030” coporate plan launched by the football authorities early this year.

Many football loving fans and stakeholders are now admitting that there are good signs of developments by the new management including improved national team.

Sri Lanka took part in to AFC U16 Women’s Championship in 2012 for the last time.

About the Author